MARANA, Ariz. — This week the top-64 players in the Official World Golf Rankings, including TaylorMade Tour Staff professionals from both the PGA Tour and European Tour, congregate in Marana, Arizona, for the annual WGC Accenture Match Play Championship at Dove Mountain. One of golf’s richest prizes is also one of its most demanding challenges as the winner must navigate their way through a ladder of matches with the best players in the world. The WGC Match Play, more and more in recent years, indicates a new beginning for the Tour season and a unique energy fueled by the presence of the best players in the world.

Where some such players have been absent from PGA Tour events in recent weeks, including the AT&T Pebble Beach National Pro-Am and Northern Trust Open, the field at WGC Match Play leaves nothing to be desired. Much like “March Madness” in NCAA Division I basketball, golf fans seem to gravitate to the bracket format at WGC Match Play, whether it be for competition in an office pool or purely for the enjoyment of the one-on-one competition.

The Ryder Cup gave us a taste of the magic of match play again last fall – drama, passion, unpredictability – and we can only hope for a thread of recreation of such emotion this week at Dove Mountain. Below are the tee times for every TaylorMade Tour Staff professional in the field this week and its worth noting – only one opening-round match pairs two Staff players against one another, John Senden vs. Bo Van Pelt. Given the strength of the field and the amount of TaylorMade Tour Staff pros competing, one match should be considered fortunate for our rooting interests.

Again, here’s the list of tee times (all times local) and seeding for TaylorMade Tour Staff professionals competing in WGC Match Play on Wednesday. We look forward to watching this week and following along with the bracket.

9:25 a.m. — Sergio Garcia (3), Spain, vs. Thongchai Jaidee (14) Thailand

9:45 a.m. — Ian Poulter (3), England, vs. Stephen Gallacher (14), Scotland

9:55 a.m. — Bo Van Pelt (6), United States, vs. John Senden (11), Australia

10:15 a.m. — Zach Johnson (6), United States, vs. Jason Day (11), Australia

10:25 a.m. — Jason Dufner (3), United States, vs. Richard Sterne (14), South Africa

10:45 a.m. — Justin Rose (2), England, vs. K.J. Choi (15), South Korea

11:35 a.m. — Jim Furyk (7), United States, vs. Ryan Moore (10), United States

11:55 a.m. — Martin Kaymer (7), Germany, vs. George Coetzee (10), South Africa

12:05 p.m. — Keegan Bradley (4), United States, vs. Marcus Fraser (13), Australia

12:25 p.m. — Steve Stricker (4), United States, vs. Henrik Stenson (13), Sweden

12:45 p.m. — Dustin Johnson (4), United States, vs. Alexander Noren (13), Sweden

1:05 p.m. — Webb Simpson (4), United States, vs. David Lynn (13), England

1:15 p.m. — Peter Hanson (5), Sweden, vs. Thomas Bjorn (12), Denmark

1:25 p.m. — Louis Oosthuizen (1), South Africa, vs. Richie Ramsay (16), Australia

1:55 p.m. — Paul Lawrie (8), Scotland, vs. Scott Piercy (9), United States

Leave a Comment