GULLANE, Scotland — Welcome to The Open! This week, TaylorMade Golf continues our celebration of “10 Years of Tradition” of recognizing the major championships with special edition commemorative logos. The latest major, the 2013 Open Championship at Muirfield, is special for a number of reasons and of course the event’s incredibly rich heritage, which is reflected in the iconography of the new logo. Below is a full explanation decoding this year’s Open Championship logo. For a full gallery of all of our major championship commemorative logos, visit our Facebook page.
Be sure and look for the logo on special edition bags and headcovers our players will be using throughout the 2013 Open Championship, to debut here first on Tour Diaries later this morning.
- The book symbolizes the Original 13 Rules of Golf, which were written in 1744 by a golf society that became known as the Honourable Company of Edinburgh Golfers. The HCEG changed its base to several golf clubs throughout the next 150 years before settling at Muirfield in 1891, site of this year’s Open.
- The Original 13 Rules of Golf were expressly written for the group’s first Championship, held in 1744, in which 11 players competed. The two arrows allude to the winner and first club captain, a surgeon who besides a skilled golfer was also an avid archer.
- Muirfield’s clubhouse, built in 1891, enforces a strict dress code in the dining room and and smoking room, where men are required to wear a “gentleman’s lounge jacket and tie.”
- As a links course, Muirfield’s position near the water – the Firth of Forth – gives the layout its sandy base and it’s the reason why the occasional small seashell is uncovered when raking one of its 148 bunkers.